The Google ScamA large number of us, both clients and managers, have received emails which look typically Google-esque reporting that our ads have stopped being served and that we need to sort out our billing. Don't fall for it. It's just another scam and a clever one at that. The EmailThe email looks genuine. It perports to be from Google, it follows their format and contains a link. Clicking The LinkIf you click the link, it takes you to that familiar log on page. Notice the URL though - this is when you should be first asking questions. It's a sub domain of x855ws.cn - not Google. Whether or not you enter your log on info or just leave it blank doesn't seem to make a difference. Clicking the Sign In button takes you on one step closer to the real scam. This may mean they aren't harvesting details, but I wouldn't want to bet on that! The Real ScamWhen you click sign in, you are taken to another familiar page, albeit still with a .cn extension. Everything looks bona fide to a degree. The links work (they predominantly go back to the real Google pages) and the tabs look as they should, but the real difference is in the fact that it asks you for credit card details in a way Adwords never does. I have to admit, it is clever but devious. I can understand why people might fall for it, but to be prewarned is to be prearmed. Don't fall for this yourself! | |||||||||||||||||||||||
Click the images to download larger versions. | |||||||||||||||||||||||
| www.intergage.co.uk |